Inspired Reading: Cinder

Cinder (Lunar Chronicles, #1)Cinder by Marissa Meyer
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Let’s face it. Modern versions of classic fairy tales abound. And the story of Cinderella, her glass slipper, and her charming prince is an oft retold tale. However, only someone with a passion for fairy tales, anime, and Star Wars (after my own heart) could imagine the story with a cyborg foot in a future threatened by plague and intergalactic warfare.

Marissa Meyer’s first novel in her Lunar Chronicles series is sure to enchant young adult readers and anyone who enjoys a great story, complete with political intrigue, romance, and mystery. You’ll root for Cinder, a self-sufficient and feisty teenage mechanic with an endearing dose of sarcasm. And who could resist Prince Kai’s humor, kindness, and struggle between his own needs and his duty as an heir to the throne? Meyer’s futuristic world and characters are both tangible and touching. I can’t wait for the next installment in Cinder’s tale! I usually wait until an entire series is complete before I read it, because I have absolutely no patience. I literally CANNOT wait. But Macmillan was generous enough to send me an advance reader’s edition, so the least I could do was devour the book in three days, amidst my own writing commitments.

Meyer also has three upcoming books planned that are inspired by other favorite fairy tales. I intend to keep a close eye on this YA author.

View all my reviews

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. pam thomson
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 11:38:51

    You made me want to read this. When will it be out?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

